Group Directorate

Executive Directors
André de Ruyter
Chief Executive Officer

MBA (Nyenrode University), LLB (UNISA), Bachelor of Civil Law and a BA (University of Pretoria)
André was Sasol’s Senior Group Executive for Global Chemicals and North America Operations for a little over three years. Prior to this he was the Managing Director for Sasol O&S and responsible for managing Group Strategy for Sasol.

He joined Nampak as Executive Director effective 1 January 2014 and took over as CEO in March.

Gareth Griffiths  
Chief Financial Officer

BCom (Rhodes); BCompt (Hons) (Unisa); CA(SA)
Gareth joined Nampak as CFO on 1 September 2009. Prior to that he served as chief financial officer of Abu Dhabi Airport Company and South African Airways and held senior executive appointments in the Bidvest group. Appointed to the board in 2009.

Member of the risk management committee
Fezekile Tshiqi  
Group Human Resources Director

Fezekile was appointed divisional HR director of Nampak Tissue in 1998 and was appointed HR director, Nampak Africa region, in 2002. Appointed to the board in 2009.

Non-Executive Directors
Tito Mboweni
Non-Executive Chairman
BA (National University of Lesotho), MA (University of East Anglia)
Doctor of Economics honoris causa, (University of KwaZulu-Natal, Technikon Witwatersrand and University of Cape Town); Honorary Professor in Economics (UNISA, University of Pretoria, University of Limpopo, University of Stellenbosch); Distinguished Honorary Professor (University of KwaZulu-Natal) and formerly Chancellor of the University of North-West (2002-2005).

Non-executive chairman with effect from 1 June 2010. Minister of labour from 1994 to 1998. Eighth governor of the South Africa Reserve Bank from 1999 to 2009. Chancellor of the University of the North. International adviser to Goldman Sachs and chairman of AngloGold Ashanti Limited. Appointed to the board in 2010.

Roy Andersen
CA (SA); CPA (Texas)
Current directorships include non-executive chairman of Murray and Roberts Holdings Limited and Sanlam Limited, as well as independent non-executive director of Virgin Active Group Limited (United Kingdom) and Aspen Pharmacare Holdings Limited. He is also a member of the King Committee on Corporate Governance, a major-general and Chief of Defence Reserves of the SANDF, director of Business Against Crime and the Business Trust.

Appointed to the board in 2008. Member of the remuneration and nominations committee. Member of the audit committee.

Dr Reuel Khoza  
BA Honours (Psychology)
BA Honours (Psychology), University of the North (now University of Limpopo); MA (Marketing), University of Lancaster, UK; Eng D (Business), University of Warwick, UK; D of Laws honoris causa, Rhodes University

Chairman of Aka Capital (Pty) Limited, Nedbank Group, Corobrik (Pty) Limited. Director of Old Mutual plc and several companies in which Aka Capital (Pty) Limited has invested. Fellow and president of the Institute of Directors in Southern Africa and chairman of the NEPAD Business Foundation. Member of the King Committee on Corporate Governance. Appointed to the board in 2005.

Phinda Madi  
BProc (Unizul); EDP (HEC – Paris); EDP (Northwestern – Chicago, USA)
Non-executive director of Illovo Sugar Limited, The Spar Group Limited, Sovereign Food Investments Limited and Siyafika Recruitment. He is also the chairman of Allcare Medical Administrators (Pty) Limited and Ad Hominem Professor at Rhodes University. He is a member of the Illovo Sugar Limited and Sovereign Food Investments Limited's remuneration committees. Appointed to the board in 2008.

Member of the risk management committee. Member of the transformation and sustainability committee.

Disebo Moephuli
BA (Economics); MBA (Financial)
Disebo is the group treasurer of Transet. She has previously held positions at the South African Reserve Bank, Development Bank of Southern Africa, First National Bank and RMB. Appointed to the board in 2009.

Nosipho Molope
BSc (Med) (Wits); BCompt (Hon)
(Unisa); CA (SA)
Nosipho is a member of the boards of Illovo Sugar Limited, The Petroleum and Gas Company of South Africa (Pty) Limited, Hudaco Industries Limited and MTN SA. She also serves on the boards of various MTN group subsidiaries in East and West Africa. Appointed to the board in 2007.

Member of the audit committee. Member of the risk management committee.

Roy Smither
BCom; CA (SA)
An executive director of Tiger Brands Limited until retirement in 2006. Currently serving on the boards of Hans Merensky Holdings (Pty) Limited and Rainbow Chicken Limited, and on the Credit Committee of the FirstRand Banking group. Appointed to the board in 2006.

Member of the audit committee. Member of the risk management committee.

Peter Surgey
Peter was the CEO of Barloworld Coatings from 1988 to 2003 and an executive director of Barloworld Limited from 1995 to 2008. A past founding and board member of Business Against Crime, currently a director of the National Business Initiative, Freeworld Coatings and a trustee of the President's Trust and the Duke of Edinburgh Award. Appointed to the board in 2009.

Member of the remuneration and nominations committee. Member of the transformation and sustainability committee

Emmanuel Ikazoboh
MBA (Financial Management and Marketing)
Emmanuel Ikazoboh graduated in Finance and Accounting from Yaba College of Technology Lagos and is a UK certified Accountant, a Fellow of the Chartered Association of Certified Accountants and of The Nigerian Institute of Taxation.

He was previously the Administrator of the Nigerian Stock Exchange. Ikazoboh worked as Deloitte’s Client Service Director for Africa (2002 - 2007) and was the CEO of Deloitte West and Central Africa until August 2009. He is a partner of Touche Ross in Dartford, UK, an adviser to the Edo State Government Economic and Strategy team and a board member on the International Institute for Sustainable Development in Winnipeg, Canada. He recently incorporated a Business Process Outsourcing Company called Hedonmark Management Services.

Ikazoboh is a columnist and regular presenter at regional conferences.

Ipeleng Mkhari  
Co-founder and Group CEO of Motseng Investment Holdings B.Sc (Social Science)
Established the first black woman owned CCTV business; co-founded Motseng Investment Holdings (MIH), a diversified investment holdings group, and held position of Group Chief Operations Officer (COO) since 2008 and was appointed the Group CEO in February 2013.

Motseng Group founded and listed Delta Property Fund a leading black managed property fund in 2012. Mkhari was named one of CEO magazine's Most Influential Women In Business in 2008, the Cosmopolitan Mover of the Year and was a finalist in the Entrepreneur Business Woman of the Year award in 2006. She serves on the boards of all Motseng subsidiaries, KAP Industrial Holdings, Delta Property Fund, South African Property Owners Association (SAPOA) and St John’s Diocesan School for Girls.

Nopasika Lila
BCompt (Hons); CA (SA)
Nopasika is the Chief Financial Officer for the Eskom Pension and Provident Fund. She serves as an independent Non-executive Director for Basil Read Holdings Limited and chairs their Audit Committee. She is also a Non-executive Director for Austro Group Limited.

She joined Nampak in March 2014 and is a member of the Audit Committee.